Mango Upside-Down Cake

Catch the latest post from our lifestyle contributor, Sarah Sobka.

Young Foodie

20140629-163001-59401180.jpg

I am in love with this cake.

This recipe came about when I found that a batch of mangoes that we had bought wasn’t very sweet and not so nice to eat fresh. The solution? Bake with them. An upside-down cake was a particular good choice as you caramelise the fruit that is on the bottom of the pan, hence making it sweeter. 20140629-163003-59403865.jpg

So, inspired by the well-known pineapple upside-down cake, I decided to create something new and this cake was born! Coconut was a natural accompaniment to this exotic cake, and I also thought that using it would ensure that any excess moisture released by the mangoes would be absorbed by the desiccated  coconut, preventing a soggy cake. 20140629-163002-59402528.jpg

All-in-all, however, I think this cake speaks for itself! I did have to use cup measurements as I was toggling the recipe around, however. Whilst my non-British readers should have no problem with…

View original post 244 more words

Share your view

